About The ICIS Kavaler Award


The ICIS Kavaler Award, sponsored by The Chemists’ Club, is awarded each year to an executive who is recognized for outstanding achievement, as voted on by his peers.

History of the Award

arthur-kavalerThe award is a revival of the Kavaler Award, which was presented by Chemical Market Reporter to leading chemical CEOs from 1990 to 1999, including Jon Huntsman Sr., founder, Chairman and CEO of Huntsman, and Frank Popoff, Chairman and CEO of Dow Chemical and and Robert Kennedy, Chairman of Union Carbide. Arthur Kavaler, who served for 46 years as reporter, editor and eventually publisher and editor-in-chief of Chemical Market Reporter – one of the three publications incorporated into ICIS Chemical Business – passed away at the age of 91 on January 18, 2012. Kavaler, a probing reporter and an editor with unwavering conviction, had a major impact on chemical industry journalism.

(Above: Arthur Kavaler, the award namesake, at the 1990 Kavaler Award Ceremony in New York City.)

Selection Process

In the award selection process, ICIS and The Chemists’ Club invited each of the ICIS Top 40 Power Playersto vote for three individuals in that group, based on newsworthy achievement in one or more of the following categories:

  • Profitability/shareholder value
  • Mergers and acquisitions (deals or integration)
  • Projects/capital investment
  • Innovation – technology, product, business process with an impact on industry and society

Recent Awardees

2017 – Kurt Bock, BASF

2016 – Jim Radcliffe, INEOS


2015 – Andrew Liveris, Dow Chemical


2014 – Jim Gallogly, LyondellBasell


2013 – Charles Bunch, PPG