2019 Winthrop-Sears Award at the Egg Nog Gala


The Chemists' Club president, Dr. Roland Stefandl, awarded William A. Wulfsohn, chairman and CEO of Ashland Global Holdings the 2019 Winthrop-Sears Medal for entrepreneurial excellence in the chemical industry. Wulfsohn received the medal at the club's 122nd annual Egg Nog Gala, held on December 12 at the New York Academy of Sciences.
Since joining Ashland in 2015, Wulfsohn has led the transformation of the company into an innovative partner that is "always solving" for its specialty chemicals customers in more than 100 countries. Under Wulfsohn's leadership, Ashland's solvers develop practical, innovative and elegant solutions to complex problems, always pushing the boundaries of what's possible, to advance the competitiveness of their customers across diverse industries. Wulfsohn also sits on the board of directors of PolyOne Corporation. Prior to joining Ashland, he was president and CEO of Carpenter Technology and served on its board of directors. He earned a Bachelor of Science in chemical engineering from the University of Michigan and a Master of Business Administration from Harvard University.
The Winthrop-Sears Medal recognizes entrepreneurial achievements in the chemical industry. The medal is named in honor of two of America's earliest chemical entrepreneurs, John Winthrop, Jr., considered the nation's first chemist, and John Sears, who founded its salt industry. Previous recipients include Mario Nappa (Chemours), Peter McCausland (Airgas), Sol Barer (Celgene), Robert Gore (Gore-Tex), and Jon M. Huntsman (Huntsman Chemical Corporation).