121st Egg Nog Party/Winthrop-Sears Award – December 13, 2018

2018 Winthrop Sears Medal for Entrepreneurial Achievement Awarded to
Dr. George Corbin of Solvay Specialty Polymers – Medal recognizes entrepreneurship that revitalizes the chemical industry and betters humanity

NEW YORK, NEW YORK, October 15, 2018  –  The 2018 Winthrop Sears Medal for Entrepreneurial Achievement has been awarded to Dr. George Corbin, executive vice president of Solvay’s Specialty Polymers Business, it was announced today by Dr. Roland Stefandl, president of The Chemists’ Club (www.thechemistsclub.org).  The medal, which has been awarded annually since 1970, will be presented to Dr. Corbin on December 13, 2018 during the club’s 121st annual Egg Nog Gala at the New York Academy of Sciences.

“Dr. Corbin was selected for his outstanding leadership of a team of scientists and engineers that helped to develop sustainable polymer technology for the Solar Impulse, the world’s first solar powered aircraft,” said Dr. Stefandl.  The Solar Impulse team succeeded despite widespread skepticism in the global scientific community.  The Solar Impulse flew around the world in a series of consecutive flights from 2015-2016 without using any fuel.

Dr. Corbin joined Solvay in 2001 and has held several senior level positions prior to being appointed to his current position.  He received his B.S. in chemical engineering in 1979 from Columbia University and his Sc.D. in 1983 from M.I.T.


Solvay, headquartered in Brussels, is an advanced materials and chemical company with more than 24,000 employees in 61 countries.  Net sales were 10.1 billion Euros in 2017.  Solvay is a main partner of the Solar Impulse Project.  For more information visit here.

The Chemists’ Club
Founded in 1898, The Chemist’s Club (www.thechemistsclub.org) is a non profit educational organization whose membership is open to anyone with an interest in the chemical process industries, including: chemists, chemical engineers, attorneys, consultants, financial analysts, venture capitalists, academics and students (dues free), both graduate and undergraduate.

The Winthrop Sears Medal was established by The Chemists’ Club in 1970 to recognize individuals who, by their entrepreneurial achievement, have contributed to the vitality of the chemical industry and the betterment of humanity.  The medal is named in honor of two of Colonial America’s earliest chemical entrepreneurs, John Winthrop, Jr. and John Sears.  Past medal winners include: Jon Huntsman, Robert Gore, Gordon Cain, Leonard Pool, Harold Sorgenti, Sol Boyer, Phillip Sharp and Peter McCausland.

– Press release (Oct. 15. 18)

This event attracts guests from across the chemical science-based industries as well as other who have an interest in the industry, such as financial analysts and consultants. This diversity makes for a very sociable evening.

The dinner is unique, as corporate sponsors enable the Club to invite college students, both undergraduate and graduate, to attend free of charge. The informal networking gives the students an invaluable opportunity to learn about the industry, and some recruiting has been known to occur.

Register by clicking HERE